The Turf Authorities of India comprise of the following five main race clubs in India:

  1. Royal Calcutta Turf Club at Kolkatta
  2. Royal Western India Turf Club, Ltd. racing at Mumbai and Pune
  3. Madras Race Club racing at Chennai and the hill station of Ootacamund
  4. Bangalore Turf Club Ltd at Bengaluru
  5. Hyderabad Race Club at Hyderabad

Each of the abovementioned Clubs is a separate entity governed by their respective Committees, which are elected from its Members.

In addition to the abovementioned racing centres, there is racing also at Mysore, conducted by the Mysore Race Club Ltd. and at Delhi conducted by the Delhi Race Club (1940) Ltd.

The Chairmen of the Turf Authorities of India meet once in three months, to evolve common rules, regulations and policies concerning racing, and also assist each other in common issues and to make joint representations to Government on various matters, such as Betting Tax, etc.

The Chairman of the Turf Authorities of India rotates every year amongst the abovementioned five race clubs.

The Indian Turf Invitation Cup, The Sprinters' Cup, The Stayers' Cup and The Super Mile Cup, are the four Grade 1 races run every year, in rotation, at each of the abovementioned five racing venues. These races are held during the first weekend of March every year, which is popularly known as The Indian Turf Invitation Cup Weekend, which is followed by a Joint Meeting of the Turf Authorities of India wherein the Committees of all the abovementioned Clubs participate.

Links to our members